RESOURCES
RESOURCES
 

General Resources

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) https://www.samhsa.gov/

The Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) is a federal agency with the mission is to reduce the impact of substance abuse and mental illness on America's communities.

The Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) https://www.dea.gov/

The mission of the DEA is to enforce the controlled substances laws and regulations of the United States and bring to justice those organizations and principal members of organizations, involved in the growing, manufacture, or distribution of controlled substances appearing in or destined for illicit traffic in the United States.

DEA National Drug Threat Assessment 2018 https://www.dea.gov/sites/default/files/2018-11/DIR-032-18%202018%20NDTA%20%5Bfinal%5D%20low%20resolution11-20.pdf

 

DEA Campus Drug Prevention https://www.campusdrugprevention.gov/

 

National Survey of Drug Use and Health 2019 https://www.dea.gov/sites/default/files/2020-01/2019-NDTA-final-01-14-2020_Low_Web-DIR-007-20_2019.pdf

 

National Institutes of Health (NIH)

NIH, a part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, is the nation’s medical research agency — making important discoveries that improve health and save lives. NIDA and NIAAA are institutes under NIH.

 

National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA) https://www.drugabuse.gov/

 

Monitoring the Future Survey 2019 https://www.drugabuse.gov/publications/drugfacts/monitoring-future-survey-high-school-youth-trends

 

Easy to Read Drug Facts https://easyread.drugabuse.gov/

 

National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA) https://www.niaaa.nih.gov/

 

National Alliance on Mental Illness (NAMI) https://www.nami.org/About-Mental-Illness/Common-with-Mental-Illness/Substance-Use-Disorders

NAMI provides advocacy, education, support and public awareness so that all individuals and families affected by mental illness can build better lives.

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) https://www.cdc.gov/

CDC works to protect America from health, safety and security threats, both foreign and in the U.S. by conducting critical science and providing health information that protects our nation against dangerous health threats, and responding when these arise.

Statistics on Drug Overdoses https://www.cdc.gov/nchs/fastats/drug-overdoses.htm

 

American Society of Addiction Medicine (ASAM) https://www.asam.org/

ASAM is a professional medical society representing over 6,000 physicians, clinicians and associated professionals in the field of addiction medicine.

 

Partnership to End Addiction https://drugfree.org/

Researchers, advocates, and clinicians who partner with families, professionals and other organizations to provide personalized support and resources to families while mobilizing policymakers, researchers and health care professionals to more effectively address addiction systemically on a national scale.

 

American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry (AACAP) https://www.aacap.org/AACAP/Families_and_Youth/Resource_Centers/Substance_Use_Resource_Center/Home.aspx

The mission of AACAP is to promote the healthy development of children, adolescents, and families through advocacy, education, and research.

Foundation for a Drug-Free World https://www.drugfreeworld.org/

The Foundation is a nonprofit public benefit corporation that empowers youth and adults with factual information about drugs so they can make informed decisions and live drug-free.

 

FDA Safe Disposal of Medications https://www.fda.gov/drugs/safe-disposal-medicines/disposal-unused-medicines-what-you-should-know

Shatterproof https://www.shatterproof.org/

A community of families affected by addiction, committed to ending the stigma of the disease and helping those with the disease to fully recover.

 

For Parents/Educators

DEA Get Smart About Drugs  https://www.getsmartaboutdrugs.gov/

 

DEA Drug Facts https://www.dea.gov/factsheets

 

Opioid Facts for Parents https://newsinhealth.nih.gov/2020/04/opioid-facts-parents

 

NIDA Scholastic Head’s Up Education Series http://headsup.scholastic.com/

 

NIDA for Teens https://teens.drugabuse.gov/

 

SAMHSA Publications on Substances and Prevention https://store.samhsa.gov/

 

Natural High https://www.naturalhigh.org/

These are educational sites with activities, information, guidance and resources for parents and educators.

 

For Teens

NIDA for Teens https://teens.drugabuse.gov/

 

DEA (Drug Enforcement Administration) Just Think Twice https://www.justthinktwice.gov/

 

Head’s Up http://headsup.scholastic.com/

 

Mental Health Help https://www.mentalhealth.gov/talk/young-people

 

Underage Drinking: Myths & Facts https://store.samhsa.gov/product/Underage-Drinking-Myths-vs-Facts/sma18-4299

Natural High https://www.naturalhigh.org/

Get the facts on drugs and their effects. Videos, games, activities, true facts. These are great sites for teens to get accurate information about drugs and alcohol. 

Jewish Resources

 

CCSA https://www.time2talkaddiction.org/

 

Amudim https://amudim.org/

 

Beit Tshuvah Congregation https://beittshuvah.org/congregation/about-us/

 

Birthright Israel Recovery Trip https://www.israelfreespirit.com/trip/recovery

 

Friendship House (West Bloomfield, MI)  https://www.friendshipcircle.org/friendshiphouse/

 

JAAN (CA) https://www.jaanetwork.org/

 

JACS https://jewishboard.org/listing/jewish-alcoholics-chemically-dependent-persons-and-significant-others-jacs/

 

Madraigos (Woodmere, NY) www.madraigos.org

 

Mothers and Fathers Aligned Saving Kids http://maskparents.org/

 

Our Place (Brooklyn, NY) https://ourplaceny.org/

 

Relief https://www.reliefhelp.org/

 

T’Shuva Center (Brooklyn, NY) https://www.tshuvahcenter.com/

 

The Aleph Institute https://aleph-institute.org/wp/

 

The Jewish Recovery Center (Boca Raton, FL) https://www.jewishrecovery.com/

 

The Living Room (Brooklyn, NY) https://www.tlrny.org/

 

YY House (Sherman Oaks CA) https://www.facebook.com/YY-House-1006847092686846/

Addiction is a disease and Jewish people, like any other nationality, race or religion, are not immune. These are specific not-for-profit resources for the Jewish community.

  • Instagram Social Icon

©2020 by Communities Confronting Substance Abuse, Inc., a 501(c)(3) Charitable Organization

Donations are tax-deductible. Tax ID#83-2197907

Please contact us: time2talkaddiction@gmail.com